Musée de l'Ordre de la Libération
The Musée de l'Ordre de la Libération is a military museum located in the 7th arrondissement at 51 bis boulevard de La Tour-Maubourg, Paris, France. It is open daily except Sunday; admission is free. The museum is dedicated to the Ordre de la Libération, France's second national order after the Légion d'honneur, which was created in 1940 by General Charles de Gaulle, leader of the Free French Forces. In 1967 de Gaulle moved the Order of the Liberation into Les Invalides. The museum contains three galleries and six rooms (total 1,000 m²) documenting the history of the Free French Forces, de Gaulle's manuscripts, resistance activities, and the concentration camps. Showcases contain more than 4,000 objects including uniforms, weapons, clandestine press and leaflets, transmitters, flags taken to the enemy on the battlefields of Africa and Europe, the first naval flags of Free France, and relics from the camps. The hall of honor is dedicated to General de Gaulle.